Divorced But Never Married: Part 6; Haircuts

hairdu mmy

I used to give him haircuts.

At the end he would get pushy

With whiskey in his blood:

“Can you please cut my hair tonight!?”

*

Because all I had done that day

Was run a business,

Pick up and interact with my step-children

Prior to making them dinner.

*

But he was ancy with liquor

And, maybe, so was I.

*

It was a simple process.

I used two different attachments.

I used two different trimmers.

I faded the sides and created perfect lines.

*

The stress had gotten to the health of my hair.

My ends were breaking.

My heart was aching.

I had to cut so much of it off.

*

One night…

He told me how terrible it looked.

The same night,

He said if it weren’t for the kids, he would have already killed himself.

*

That was over a year ago.

My hair is healthy today.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑